MAC Embark Eyeshadow Review, Swatch, EOTD

by Rati on December 17, 2012 · 29 comments

MAC Embark Eyeshadow

mac embark eyeshadow

Price : Rs 720 for refill.

MAC describes Embark as matte intense reddish brown.

I am slightly on the edge of loving MAC Embark eyeshadow. It is a matte deep brown eyeshadow with red undertones. It is very pigmented and builds up well. Sometimes it goes patchy but a few brush stokes just makes the color look seamless. If I use it as an overall color, the reddish undertones of the color sometimes make my eyes look dull and ill. I always have to use a bit of shimmer on top of it to add life to my eyes.  It is however an excellent crease color , and an outer V color.  The staying power is pretty awesome . It does not fade neither does it crease. I also like to use it when I have to smudge my eye kohl. It barely has any fall out.

Personally for me , this a very regular deep matte brown eyeshadow. A similar dark brown color is also in L’oreal Pro Eyeshadow Palette in Smokey Brown.

I wouldn’t call it a must have. I’d rather prefer Folie or Espresso

Indian Makeup and Beauty Blog Rating : 3/5

mac embark brown eyeshadow


mac embark eyeshadow review


mac embark review


Swatch :mac embark eyeshadow swatch


Embark all over the lid and a light shimmer added on top of it. mac embark eyemakeup

101 MAC Eyeshadow Photos, Swatches
MAC Eyeshadows Guide
46 MAC Eyeshadow Photos, Swatches
12 Must Have MAC Eyeshadows for Indian Skin Tones
How to Depot Mac Eyeshadows
15 Must Have MAC Eyeshadows : Ask IMBB
MAC Eyeshadows Guide
MAC Colorwise Lipstick Directory
A Guide to MAC Lipstick Finishes
7 MAC Pink Lipsticks Photos, Swatches
5 MAC Peach Lipstick Photos , Swatches
MAC Eyeshadow Trax Review, Swatch, EOTD
Mac Malt Eyeshadow Review, Swatch

MAC Embark Eyeshadow Review, Swatch, EOTD Overall rating: 0 out of 5 based on 0 reviews.

Reviewer's Name
Reviewer's Email
Review Title
Review Content

{ 23 comments… read them below or add one }

TA December 17, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Your eyes look beautiful Rati, very neat :)


Rati December 17, 2012 at 10:36 pm

thank you TA :)


Nidhi December 17, 2012 at 10:48 pm

Rati.. Nice review.. i like the color ….. babz u have many other options in brown probably that is y you are iffy bout this shade… and the eotd.. its very my kinda .. i love this kinda subtle look with bold lips.. me loving it :-)


Rati December 17, 2012 at 11:02 pm

actually my reviews are based on .. let’s say if people want some 15 mac eyeshadows , would this be the one? Yes no?? If there is a better option, I mention that. You are right I have so many browns that is why I don’t fancy this one much. But there are better browns. 😀

Thankoooo :))


Nidhi December 18, 2012 at 10:58 am

Okkieeezz… good to know.. :-)


aparajita December 17, 2012 at 10:51 pm

OMG! this is like the perfect brown! 😀 ur eyes look stunning as usual :)


Rati December 17, 2012 at 11:03 pm

Thanks aparajita :)


Nafisa Ali December 17, 2012 at 11:08 pm

ur eyes look lovely!! ♥ :)


Rati December 18, 2012 at 12:06 am

thank you nafisa :)


shilpi December 17, 2012 at 11:09 pm

your eyes look pretty, n u know only by looking at your eyes I can imagine you in full..:-)


Surbhi December 17, 2012 at 11:49 pm

i liked this color but you are right rati di, there are better browns available. but still, it looks really awesome on your eyes :)


Rati December 18, 2012 at 12:04 am

thanks surbhi. :)) thank you shilpi :)


Bee December 18, 2012 at 12:01 am

I loved this eye-do Rati :) I’m going to do the same on kishmash 😀
I got zukaam and fever :( give me huggie!


Rati December 18, 2012 at 12:04 am

awww tight huggggggsss beeno. Get wel soon. :-* and do it on kishmas. It would look super nice on you. :)


Nidhi December 18, 2012 at 12:05 am

I agree with you Rati that the color when used alone would look lifeless and boring. Its the added shimmer that makes one gaga over it. As a base color I believe it would look great on fair complexion but not much otherwise. Though you have done great justice to the color


Kritika December 18, 2012 at 1:01 am

Beautiful eyes Rayi dii….am toe fan of ur eyeshadow reviews…. U r sooo perfect at this…….. Bole toe Aamir akhan types….lol. 😉


Kritika December 18, 2012 at 1:02 am

Oopsiiiii Rati* dii… bad bad phone ka keyboard…..O:-)


Misha December 18, 2012 at 1:06 am

All Hail the MAC Queen RATI :) …i have a below average knowledge about eye shadows…tutorials on IMBB help me in understanding a lot more than their basic characteristics..a big thank you for starting this blog and letting me be a part of it :) xoxoxoxoxo <3 <3 Long Live IMBB!!


Bhumika December 18, 2012 at 5:24 am

loved the look u cam up with Rati :)


Parita December 18, 2012 at 7:14 am

love love the EOTD! gorgeous Rati but i do agree its not a must have..i have espresso in my wish list :)


sandhya December 18, 2012 at 11:08 am

beautifully done eyes rati di! I am looking for a deep brown crease color, i am in favour of folie as i have seen you use it so many times! wil check out this one also though! btb is there a touch of pink or have you just blended the shadow with a highlighter. also which highlighter have you used ?


Megha December 18, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Lyk u my eyes r also hooded which i really dnt lyk. bt after looking at ur eyes…i have changed my idea nd convinced myself dat hooded eyes r also beeeeeeeeeeeautiful!!!!!!!!! Ur eyes r really beautiful. Shadow is also good bt d credit goes to ur eyes only. Its bcoz of ur eyes shadow is looking nice.


Megha December 18, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Rati i hav a query… after applying shadow my eyes r looking more smaller than usual. can you pls guide me how can i apply shadow to make it bigger


Leave a Comment

{ 6 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: