VLCC Punarnava Astringent Review

by Ansh on November 29, 2010 · 29 comments

VLCC Punarnava Astringent Review

VLCC Punarnava Astringent

VLCC Punarnava Astringent

What it says?

Tightens pores. Detoxifies and controls oil secretion

Cleanses, tones and refreshes the skin. Helps in tightening pores and also works as an antiseptic astringent. It helps prevent breakout of acne in oily skin.

Method to use:

After cleansing, apply VLCC Purarnava with a moist cotton all over face and neck.

For best results:

Use this toner everyday, after cleansing your face and follow up with VLCC Lavang Moisturiser.

Key Ingredients:

Gelidium Amansil (Agar Ext (1.5%), Boerhaavia Diffusa (Punarnava) 3%, Terminalia Belerica (Bed Nut Ext) 4%, Prunus Amygdalus (Almond Oil) 1.75%, Myristica Fragrans (Nutmeg Oil) 0.5%, Apis Mellifica (Honey) 2.5%, Aqua (Purified Water) Q.S.
Quantity 100ml
Price Rs.85
Other variant: VLCC Rose Water Toner – All skin type

I wanted to buy a herbal toner, so was confused between Himalaya, ayur and vlcc. But at the drugstore only vlcc one was available. So I made my choice. I bought it an year ago and 80% of the product is still left. Wondering why? Read on.

My experience with VLCC Astrinent:

Since the product claims its for oily skin, I bought it. My oh my how it itches your skin! NOT AT ALL FOR SENSITIVE SKIN. My skin easily turns red whenever I wax or even thread. So I have to be very careful about the products I use. This irritated my skin like hell.

VLCC Punarnava Astringent product

VLCC Punarnava Astringent product

Pros of VLCC Punarnava Astringent

:yes: Umm ok it’s cheap. Agreed.
:yes: It has got a Beautiful green color. Looks very organic.
:yes: Has got Herbal ingredients

Cons of VLCC Punarnava Astringent

:no: It itches and burns a lot when you apply it.
:no: And if by mistake you apply a bit more, then you are gone!
:no: Doesn’t dries up easily. I have to wait more than 3minutes after this to proceed with my moisturizer or sunscreen.
:no: Doesn’t minimize your pores.
:no: Does nothing for oily skin.
:no: Not at all good for sensitive skin.

Will I repurchase it?

Hell no! I’m happy with my Dabur Gulabari toner now.

My Ratings: :-*

Also Read:

VLCC Skin Defense Indian Berberry Face Scrub

VLCC Surya Sandal Sun Block Lotion

VLCC Skin Defense Range

Have You Used VLCC Punarnava Astringent Before? Please Rate in the Box Below:

VLCC Punarnava Astringent Review Overall rating: 0 out of 5 based on 0 reviews.

Reviewer's Name
Reviewer's Email
Review Title
Review Content

{ 29 comments… read them below or add one }

rids November 29, 2010 at 3:33 pm

eewww !!!! thnks for review … ll never buy this one hahahahahaha 😯 😯


ansh November 29, 2010 at 3:43 pm

yeah πŸ˜€ review with a DO NOT BUY THIS warning!


calicoaster November 29, 2010 at 3:42 pm

What kinda astringent is this that does nothing??? 😯 😯 …apart from inducing khujli to your skin!! :-/ :-/ :-/ ..I may carry it for defense purposes, whenever I am travelling alone… πŸ˜› πŸ˜› ..so cheap!! :-) …Thanks for the review Ansh!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€


ansh November 29, 2010 at 3:44 pm

it can easily work in the place of that mirchi spray!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜› 😎


calicoaster November 29, 2010 at 3:46 pm

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ add mirchi to it..and you get a deadly combination!! :evilgrin: :evilgrin: :devil: :devil: :devil: 😎 πŸ˜› πŸ˜›


ansh November 29, 2010 at 3:56 pm

so we just invented DIY mirchi spray πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› :rotfl: :laugh: :chic: 😎 :clap:


calicoaster November 29, 2010 at 4:09 pm

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:


Rati November 29, 2010 at 5:01 pm

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:


bhumika November 29, 2010 at 3:42 pm

ohh…have to stay away from dis..ok..
thanks for d review…


ansh November 29, 2010 at 3:45 pm

yes make sure! ur welcome :)


ansh November 29, 2010 at 4:46 pm

astringents are basically for oily skin. the problem is oily skin is generally sensetive due to all that acnes n pimples. toners are for dry skin. but they also suit sensitive skin. so combo/oily skin people are left to wander on their own! i dont know if dat makes any sense! πŸ˜‰ :laugh:


Smita T November 29, 2010 at 5:22 pm

The green colour is cute.. but doesn’t look all that good overall, thanks for the warning :)


ansh November 29, 2010 at 5:26 pm

only the colour is cute πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›


Smita T November 29, 2010 at 5:37 pm

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€


neha November 29, 2010 at 5:24 pm

i had written on this here on IMBB with other skin defense products
its like putting zandu balm on ur face


ansh November 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm

exactly jhandu balm is the word!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :clap: :clap:


neha November 29, 2010 at 5:33 pm

:giggle: :giggle: :giggle:
my eyes burn like hell with this
i threw this away :no:

ansh try this biotique cucumber freshner
i am using that now but will wait for it to get over before i reveiw
so far its a mix of mild and strong for oily skin
but it sucks the dirt out is what i have noticed


ansh November 29, 2010 at 6:37 pm

neha is that bioutique one good for sensitive skin? i mean really sensitive skin?


radhika November 29, 2010 at 5:32 pm

ooh! thanks for the review! :-)


ansh November 29, 2010 at 6:37 pm

:) :))


rachana November 29, 2010 at 7:14 pm

hey ansh… even I had used this astringent n tonner 3 years before. it used to come in transperent bottle, and the liquid inside was so deep green gawd!!!!! i couldn beleive this ws a herbal product by its colour.
after applying it on my skin , it actually started burning , and as u said no pore minimising effect totally zero.After three to four days i threw the bottle and bought amway’s
Attitude toner, through my cousin,its really good on my skin.It minimises pores ans remoes dirt or make up satin very nicely…… :-*


VG November 29, 2010 at 10:17 pm

Hey Rachana! Which attitude toner r u usin? d one for oily skin or dry skin?


rachana November 30, 2010 at 9:55 am

oily skin tonner


Sharon November 29, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Thnx 4 the warning Ansh 😯 😯 :pain:
Mirchi spray and Zandu balm :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Feel like listening to Munni Badnaam song now :snicker: :snicker: :snicker: πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›


rachana November 30, 2010 at 9:54 am

@VG:Yes i am using tonner for oily skin


VG December 1, 2010 at 8:47 am

I’ve a combination skin yaar..I used d attitude toner, one for dry first,den ii tried oily oone..but sumhw i liked d dry one better!! :idk:


rachana December 1, 2010 at 9:14 am

oki….. mine is very much oily skin…………


Shweta December 2, 2010 at 6:38 pm

You are right.
Its really sad to use πŸ˜›


ashwini December 7, 2010 at 6:20 pm

hi neha,,ve u used vlcc facial kit???? i m plannin to buy one..but no idea its good or nt…u gotta any idea?? anyone plz reply


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: